USCG Captain: Deck General & Safety
163 questions on deck safety for the Coast Guard captain's licence: PFDs, distress signals, extinguishers, ventilation, pollution, casualty reports and credentials.
- Questions in this course
- 163
- The mock test
- 60 questions, 42 correct to pass.
- Written from
- Titles 33 and 46, Code of Federal Regulations
This course is for anyone who prepares for a U.S. Coast Guard captain's licence (OUPV / six-pack, or Master). It drills the deck safety rules a captain must know: PFDs, distress signals, EPIRBs, fire extinguishers, ventilation, pollution rules, casualty reports and the credential itself.
The mock test is a PRACTICE format, not the official one: 60 questions, 42 to pass (70 percent). The regulation (46 CFR 11) does not state the question count or pass mark; the National Maritime Center sets them.
You take the real exam at a Coast Guard Regional Exam Center or through an approved course.
This course drills 163 questions. Every one is written from Title 33 or Title 46 of the Code of Federal Regulations, and names the section that proves its answer.
Official links
- 46 CFR Part 11 — officer endorsements — Licence requirements, OUPV, retest rules
- 33 CFR Part 175 — equipment requirements — PFDs, visual distress signals and fire extinguishers
- 46 CFR Part 4 — marine casualties — Casualty reports and chemical testing
Questions
Common questions
Is there an official test, and how is the mock test scored?
Practice format, not the official one: 60 questions, 42 to pass (70 percent). 46 CFR 11 does not state the count or the pass mark; the National Maritime Center sets them. 60 questions, 42 correct to pass.
Where do the questions in this course come from?
Every question is written from Titles 33 and 46, Code of Federal Regulations, and names the passage or section that proves its answer.
Where do I take a boating, captain or rating exam?
You take the real exam at a Coast Guard Regional Exam Center or through an approved course.
Is this course free?
Part of every course is free: a slice of every topic and one short practice test a day. Full access is $5 a month for one course, or $20 a month for every course on the site.