USCG Captain: Aids to Navigation
122 questions on the U.S. Aids to Navigation System (33 CFR 62) for the Coast Guard captain's licence: buoys, daymarks, light rhythms, the Intracoastal Waterway and the Western Rivers.
- Questions in this course
- 122
- The mock test
- 30 questions, 21 correct to pass.
- Written from
- 33 CFR Part 62, U.S. Aids to Navigation System
This course is for anyone who prepares for a U.S. Coast Guard captain's licence (OUPV / six-pack, or Master). Aids to navigation are part of the Navigation General module of the licence exam: buoys, beacons, colors, shapes, numbers, light rhythms, the Intracoastal Waterway and the Western Rivers.
The mock test is a PRACTICE format, not the official one: 30 questions, 21 to pass (70 percent). The regulation (46 CFR 11) does not state the question count or pass mark; the National Maritime Center sets them.
You take the real exam at a Coast Guard Regional Exam Center or through an approved course.
This course drills 122 questions. Every one is written from 33 CFR Part 62, the U.S. Aids to Navigation System, and names the section that proves its answer.
Official links
- 33 CFR Part 62 — U.S. Aids to Navigation System — The regulation this course is written from
- USCG Navigation Center — Light List — Every federal aid, with its light and sound characteristics
- 46 CFR Part 11 — officer endorsements — Licence requirements and retest rules
Questions
Common questions
Is there an official test, and how is the mock test scored?
Practice format, not the official one: 30 questions, 21 to pass (70 percent). 46 CFR 11 does not state the count or the pass mark; the National Maritime Center sets them. 30 questions, 21 correct to pass.
Where do the questions in this course come from?
Every question is written from 33 CFR Part 62, U.S. Aids to Navigation System, and names the passage or section that proves its answer.
Where do I take a boating, captain or rating exam?
You take the real exam at a Coast Guard Regional Exam Center or through an approved course.
Is this course free?
Part of every course is free: a slice of every topic and one short practice test a day. Full access is $5 a month for one course, or $20 a month for every course on the site.